Amtrak 48 & 49, Lake Shore Limited

The first version of Amtrak's Lake Shore Limited ran from May 10, 1971, to January 4, 1972, with the expectation of being a state-supported (403(b)) train, but such funding did not materialize. Service resumed on October 31, 1975, initially as an Amtrak "experimental" train.

Chicago Union Station to 21st Street and Halsted Street

21st Street to Englewood

Englewood to CP 509/River Junction

CP 509/River Junction to Hammond-Whiting

Hammond-Whiting to CP 506

CP 506 to CP 501 and Pine Junction

Pine Junction to Porter

Porter to Elkhart

Elkhart to Airline Junction (Toledo)

Airline Junction to East Toledo

East Toledo to Berea

Berea to CP 181 (Cleveland)

CP 181 to Collinwood (Cleveland)

Collinwood to Ashtabula

Ashtabula to Carroll Street (Buffalo)

Carroll Street (Buffalo) to Chili Junction

Chili Junction to Fairport (Rochester)

Fairport to Syracuse

Syracuse to Hoffmans

Hoffmans to Albany-Rennselaer

Albany-Rennselaer to Poughkeepsie

Spuyton-Duyvil to Poughkeepsie

Prior to April 7, 1991, the Lake Shore Limited continued on the former New York Central into its Grand Central Terminal.

Grand Central Terminal to Mott Haven Junction

Mott Haven Junction to Spuyton-Duyvil

New York City (Penn Station) to Spuyton-Duyvil

Penn Station (New York City)

The Boston Section (and later Boston Connection) splits off the main route at Albany-Rennselaer. (From its re-inauguration in October, 1975, until October 28, 1979, the Boston section traveled via Castleton, NY, on the line to New York City, and a backup move to reach to Boston line.)

Albany-Rennselaer to Port Road Crossing

Port Road Crossing to Pittsfield

Pittsfield to Springfield

Springfield to Palmer

Palmer to Worcester

Framingham to Worcester

Back Bay to Framingham

South Junction to Back Bay

 Boston South Station